Founded during the Second Bulgarian Kingdom, the Dryanovo monastery has been destroyed and re-built several times. It was restored in its present location - in the Dryanovo River gorge, 4 km away from the town of Dryanovo - in 1845. During the 1876 April Uprising, an armed detachment of 200 men, pursued by the enemy, found shelter behind the walls of Dryanovo Monastery. For nine days, they engaged in fierce battle before being crushed: all revolutionaries and monks were killed and the monastery was burned to the ground. Relics of the April epopee are still preserved in the monastery museum, along with some valuable icons.